Cyril Dennis

It is with deep sadness that we learn of the passing of Cyril Dennis on 4 November 2018. We believe he was 93 or 94.

Club Secretary, Martin Page, said: “Cyril had been a member of Insurance Chess Club for a great many years and, until his move to Scotland, continued to play for us regularly. I knew him very well as did many of the older Club members, and I am sure that they will be as sad as I am to learn of his passing.”

Former colleague at the Guardian, Michael Wiltshire, said “I first met Cyril in August 1964 when he was secretary of the Guardian chess club. Personnel had informed him I played chess so Cyril told me I was to play for the fourth team in Division 6. He was an excellent administrator and on retirement, if not before, became grader for the Insurance league. He was also a fine tutor as we would often play during our morning coffee break.”

In addition to the long service to Guardian Chess, Cyril was Assistant Secretary Inter-Office Competitions for a good number of years until 1995 and A/S Grading, retiring from the Committee in 1996. He was made a Life Member in 1997 and was a recipient of the Rodney James Award for Services to the Club in 1998.

Leave a comment